h1

No I’m Not! Am I ?

February 1, 2013

Most days I stop at a Dunkin’ Donuts for a cup of coffee on my way to work.  Its a store I frequent and the people there don’t have to ask what I want. Medium coffee regular.  I walk in, say hello, pay for the coffee, say see ya later and I’m out the door.

Recently I went in and a new young woman was behind the counter.  Asked what I would like, I told her.  I gave her my debit card, she charged me $1.89.  Usually its $2.02.  I didn’t think much of it right away and walked out to my car. Put my cup into the cup holder, and started driving.  At the next  traffic light while stopped I looked at the reciept.  “senior discount”

GAH!!   

This bugged me all day.  All of the other servers at the Dunkin Donuts store saw me as a …..  regular… wait.  Normal… no,   um….   Not a senior.  Do I look old?   I’m only 56.   My hair is mostly gray.  But….   Why all of a sudden….

The next day another server charged me $2.02.  I was happy.

The next day after, The young woman stated, “with that card you can get a free donut”.

What?

OOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

I have an AARP card.  It was sent to me a couple years ago.  You just kinda get it after you turn 50.  So I filled it out. You can get discounts on stuff.  Why not.   She saw it in my wallet when I opened. it!

That was it.  Not that I look older!!!!

It think.

 

Thanks for reading!

See you soon!

11 comments

  1. Oscar, I’m right there with you on the age. One day this past summer, I was running in the park, and exchanged passing pleasantries with a a 65+ gentleman walking his dog. As I went on my way he remarked “You look good for your age”. “For Your Age” WTH!?


  2. Somehow my brother got one when he turned 25. He sent it back.

    My question is, did you get the donut or not?


  3. Yes I did! Glazed!


  4. Guess we both look good for our age! Lol


  5. I have a card too… BUT ONLY ‘CUZ THE HUBBY IS OVER 50! But hey, I’ll take advantage of the benefits! Glad you found the silver lining in your “seniorship.”


  6. No you are not ! You are a fine man 🙂 LOL – don’t worry Oscar.


  7. Good to see you posting!!! FYI – I’ll be at a book signing at Sandman Book Co in Punta Gorda March 2, 12 to 3. Come see e if you can. Sandy & The Geezer


  8. HI O,
    If you’re in SW FL check out the post and stop by the Randell Research Center. It’s worth the trip.


  9. Where are you???!!!


  10. Hey Sandy! I’ve been real busy! Will be in your area sometime soon. Will let you know!

    O


  11. I still check to see if you return



Leave a Reply

