h1

1262 EWR SJU

August 24, 2011

1262 EWR SJU                        This was written last week.

Babe..baby baby I’m gonna leave you. I said Baby you know I gonna leave you, leave you in the summer time. leave you when the summer comes a rollin’ leave you when the summer comes along…

Led Zeppelin.   I once counted how many times Robert Plant sang the word “baby”. I forget but it was a lot.

Spoiled traveler I am in coach. Upgrades didn’t work today.  I wasn’t even on standby.  Its a good flight. 7:15pm lands in San Juan 11:30. Go to hotel, check in, go to bed. Full day tomorrow.

Not adjusting well to the Continental funeral. That is United’s merger with them.  It was fine as Continental from my perspective. Now they are slowly wrecking it. Hey, when you fly as often as I do, its important.

I should complain…  I spent the last two weeks in sunny Florida working from my daughters new home on the gulf coast.  But I DID WORK!  And actually got more done.

This week in Puerto Rico, then a week back in the office, then a week on the OuterBanks of North Carolina. 

I’m fortunate.

My work is complicated. It’s global. 90% of my work is out of the continental United States. Hmmm.  98%.    50% is politics. The rest is experiance. Knowing how to make things happen.  I’m on the phone at least 40% of the time. To people all over the world. I take calls at 6:00am, 9;00pm.  Different hours from my tasks at Oscar’s Tavern. My goal.

So I did come to realize recently that a condo may not be so bad. I already pay someone to take care of my lawn, driveway and other outside stuff.  I visited some really nice 3 unit condos near Anna Maria Island recently. Harbour Isle. They were like homes. Three of the sides of the unit have windows. Two face the sound. Have breakfast and you will look at the water. No I can,t have a garden. I can hang tomatoes on my Lanai…   Relax more, less outdoor work. I won’t, have to worry about google Earth showing my green pool everytime anyone browses my neighborhood.   Oh thats a real fear! I am proud to say that when you Google or whatever my home, my pool is blue. These past two weeks with all the rain in the northeast, the pool needed attention. Someone….. forgot to add algecide and chlorine. Backwash the filter…   The condo’s have 3 pools and a beach. I don’t have to maintain them. PLUS they have a marina. I can put my boat in a slip. Yeah, I have to buy one first but this is a concern. Oh by the way they plan a resturant with a bayside bar… hmmmmm  this could be my gig. Has god sent me this?

WAIT  I don’t plan on retiring yet. Five more years.  Will they hold the unit soundside with the second level, unit and third floor reading room!!!? My breakfast nook view of the sound with the bridge going up and down and boats putting by!!!!

LESSON:  Don’t look at any real estate until you are ready.
I torture myself everytime I visit Florida. I think often that its because I want to get away from the same old same old so badly.         I could get involved in the complex management society.  Then Mayor of Anna Maria Island. Thats all, just Mayor, no further…  I’m too concerned for everyones well being to go any higher.

“Mayor Oscar, your favorite table is ready for you and the fine lady”.

Then there was this home on the Terra Cieia Bay. Brand new dock, gorgeous sunsets, great fishing they say… The house was junk. But I could renovate, or better yet demolish and take the plans from that sweet home in Bradenton I saw and build it there. The salesman said they’d build it where I wanted.  He did!

BUT I’M NOT READY!!!!!!!!

OK.   I’ve worked since I wa 14.  I paid my own way though college, my parents couldn’t afford it. I bought a cape cod style home in th eighties and added 150% to it. All by myself.  I worked hard, worked at times 2 jobs to support my family and put my kids through private school.  It’s my turn isn’t it?  I’m 54!   what…   I just did my stuff quickly…

Right?  They’re all old enough to be on thier own… right?  I can finish settling and sell.

The condo had an elevator!  Two car garage, workshop area…. I could walk to the bridge and fish, or cross it to my favorite beach. Tend at the marina bar, keep my 24 foot skiff 100 horse Merc tied close by….

Guess I want my cake and eat it. In my case it would be my pie.

Go to work Oscar.  Nap till you land.  Busy day tomorrow… Stop daydreaming.

“you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one…” – some famous hippie rock star from the 70,s.
Oh, the windows could withstand 150mph winds and kept solar heat out!  Blazing sun on them and they didn’t get hot!  The hot water system has green heat pump technology! The model living room had dual angled fans! They were so cool!  I truly absorbed every word that Penny, the knowledgable young attractive saleswoman told me.

But she was right.  Wasn’t she?  Yeah.. she was.

I kept thinking “Penny!  knock knock knock…Penny!  knock knock knock”
(Big Bang Theory reference)

I was supposed to stop after the dreamer stuff…  I wonder if Jessica at the hotel will have a Medalla ready for me when I arrive. I hope its not too late.

Maybe forget all of this and just quit my job and work like Fred Flintstone at a quarry like my dad did.  Whistle blows and I go home to Wilma and that yappy Dino. Then tell Mr. Slate I’m quitting.  No wait….. He did the whole Florida thing, home near the beach, covered pool, boat.. and died in a year.

$#it.

Maybe I have ADD.
nah. Just a lot on my mind lately.

Condo had a dumb waiter too!  Paver driveway!  Nature path!  Kayak launch….  Maybe I’d get tired of the path. Kayaks are fun but every day…?  Can only go so far, and I have that skiff….
Mayor Oscar….   From the “Wild Party”‘   Two Bottles of Johnny Walker Blue in every garage….

Maybe move to an apartment and then become Mayor. Learn about all the good land deals before they go public….   Start a company there in November….   Consulting…   resource management..  asset management….    Buy 5 homes more inland and rent them. I could rob them easily from forclosures at like 85K a pop.

I could be the new Trump.  No hair.  Your fired!

Learn to repair outboard motors.  Big cash!

Oh we’re on approach….

Back to reality.

Thanks for reading!  See you soon!

UPDATE since this was writtten:  Looks like Hurricane Irene and I have a date with the OuterBanks. We both arrive the same day.    That Biotch!

5 comments

  1. Sounds like your heart is ready for retirement, but the rest of you… not quite yet. You’ll retire in style, I can see!

    I hope mother nature has a change of heart and cooperates so as not to ruin your (much needed) vacation.


  2. Thanks Terri!


  3. You are so funny. Sometimes I get an e-mail about comments. We are preparing for Irene here in Philadelphia. This is a real biotch I tell you first an earthquake and now a hurricane????
    Coach stinks I am so spoiled my Dad worked for Eastern until they died and then Delta. I miss those free pass days…damn!
    Hope you survive Irene in 1 piece.
    Hubs and I are lured every time we visit his sister or my parents in Florida. We always look when we are there…
    I do not want to leave the kids and grandkids. I want to move to the Jersey shore. I love the beach in the winter…I’m a writer what can I say…


  4. Doreen – I have kids here and there. So its… Whatever!
    Thanks!


  5. Hey Oscar,
    I’m not into retirement, but the Geezer is. He’s done it 4 times. Says there is a middle ground that works for him and might for you. His comment is “Going from rocket travel to ox cart ain’t easy once you try it.” Sandy



Leave a Reply

