h1

Curb Your Doe

July 6, 2011

I walk about 2 miles every night as often as I can. A zig-zag trace of a few blocks around my neighborhood. I walk the same path each time and it never gets boring. It’s always interesting in some way. One home a block away is building a new deck on the side. I watch the progress. Other homes are remodeling. My neighborhood is filled with small homes built in the 1940’s. Each one has been rebuilt or expanded to some degree. There are no two houses alike anymore. A neighborhood that used to be older folk has become full of children as each home is expanded and new young families arrive. They buy the small house, then immediately expand and remodel. My neighborhood is a very desirable one in my town. Who knew when I bought my home years ago for $56K. It’s currently valued at $700K.

Last night’s walk was interesting as well. The dog caucus as I call it was present on Elizabeth Avenue. About 6 people stop and chat with their dogs. And they all just sit and behave, sniff each other a bit. (The dogs, but there’s a couple young ladies I’d sniff) I say hi to the puppies. I call all dogs puppies. The people say hello. On the next block this guy is putting vinyl siding on his ranch. Seems like he does a strip a day. He finished the front! As I approached a corner two men were chatting. One arms folded the other standing in khakis holding a glass of white wine. Staring at something in the yard. I hear the viticulturist say, “She’s after your tomatoes”. The other gentleman slowly crept into his side yard. As I rounded the corner, a doe was walking briskly out of his yard and into the street towards me. We have a lot of deer in this suburban town. Only within the last couple years, “Progress” and development is chasing them into suburbia. The doe and I are walking up Maple Hill Road together. She’s on one side I’m on the other. It was silly! Each step taken carefully, we both walked about 30 yards. One woman seeing this joked “Please curb your deer!” We got to Meadowview Avenue and I had to turn. The deer skipped past me by about 2 feet and went into the cozy porch house’s lawn. I turned up that street and progressed. Up the side road and passed Lisa’s house. Lisa has a beautiful house. I love it. It was recently built. Her old home had a cracked foundation and had to be replaced. She usually sits on her front porch with her dog and I stop and chat. I met her at our Vet. Her dog had a hip replacement. We’ve both shared dog stories and the mortgages that come with it. “Mella” is coming along well.

Around the corner from Lisa there’s a house on the corner that has an electric fence. I learned this a while ago after I almost $hit myself seeing this copper lab charge at me then stop on a dime about 5 feet from the street. Now we’re friends. She still barks but I say hi and she stares at me as I walk past.

On my way down the hill, I see my friend the doe wandering up. She had left the cozy porch house and was heading for the silly wicker milk crate chair house. What? Oh. They have this wicker bench with no legs, placed atop two plastic milk crates. It sits proudly in their front lawn by the tree. The cozy porch is just that. It’s a cape cod style home (extended) The porch covers the entire front. On one side they have a wicker sofa and a coffee table, a rug and a tiffany lamp hanging. It looks so cozy. Thus the name.

The doe walks past and heads for the petunias. I continue down Maple Hill. I take that all the way to the end then turn on the last block. This block has homes on one side that are on a steep grade. Some driveways are at least 30 degrees. Many cars are on the street,narrowing my walkway. As I walked I noticed this young woman jogging whom I usually see at this time. Normally I just say hello and watch her jiggle on by. This time was different. She began to walk about 50 feet before me. She stopped and had her hands on her knees. “You Ok?” I asked. “yeah. I fell at the corner”. Sure enough her knee was bleeding. I asked her if she was far from home. She said she lived on Hetfield. “I live right near here on Jersey, you want a band-aid or something?” No , I’ll be ok. We chatted about the roads and lack of sidewalks. She left and jogged on. I finished that block and got home in time to watch the Yankee game finish up. We won!

Damn – I didn’t ask her name!

Thanks for reading! I’ll see you soon!

Published via iPad. Still don’t know how to paste pictures. insert snoopy here —>

8 comments

  1. The name of this post caught my attention because my nick name is Doe!
    I really enjoyed your writing style in this post I felt as if I were walking with you!


  2. Thanks for taking me along on your walk. I very much enjoyed meeting your people-neighbors, your dog-neighbors, and your deer-neighbors. What a cozy, welcoming neighborhood you have.


  3. Oscar – you sly dog, you! I see you have a Canine Ham Bone and Chowder Marching Society meeting in your ‘hood too. Tie a string around your finger to ask her her name next time and leave the first aid for later!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com


  4. Thanks Doe! 🙂


  5. Come along anytime my friend!


  6. Sandy! You’re right! How about that!


  7. What a great neighborhood. Sounds like a wonderful place to live.

    Your observations cracked me up. “Jiggle on by.” LOL!


  8. Mike. Its a nice walk! And yes, they was a jigglin! Lol



Leave a Reply

