h1

It’s All I Can Do.

January 5, 2011

I sent that message to a dear friend the other day.  Then right after that I heard the Car’s song of the same title.  It’s all I can do. My text was based on the fact that it IS all I can do. It’s one of those situations where you are limited by distance or formalities and wish you could do more.  You always want to do more.

SO doing what you can works.  so I try my  best! 

Ok, now that I’ve said that, how the hell are you?  Did you all enjoy your holidays?  I had a good time. As I said before I flew the gang in from Florida and we spent a lot of fun time together. Sadly my son-in-law who says he doesn’t have to shovel snow anymore, got to enjoy it again.  I tried to do some but got yelled at because of my shoulder.  Ok, I won’t shovel 26″ of snow. We made a plastic sled path down the hill in my front yard.  The kids had a great time sliding down towards the street. Using what the plows made, we carved out a large bowl that would contain them from going into the road.  I think they had more fun in there.

We all took the train into the city (NYC) and walked around Times Square on New Years Day.  We do this every year. We have a friend who runs a penthouse recording studio nearby and went up to the roof to look around. My daughter took a lot of photos. Still a lot of people around.  On New Years Eve, Nivea gave out these top hats for those celebrating.  As we walked in the square, they were giving out what hats remained. So we got a few.

The grandkids at Times Square.

We also went to see the Christmas Tree at Rockefeller Plaza. Very crowded, but we plow through!

As fun stuff does, it ended on the 2nd as I drove them to the airport.  My daughter had to work the 3rd. The kids and thier father started the 4th, but a day back was necessary.

Now it’s back to work.  Not handling the “up early” stuff.  Gonna have to slowly re-adjust.

Thanks for reading – Happy New Year!

See you soon!

Oh, there’s some activity at Oscar’s Tavern.

10 comments

  1. Those hats are cute. Sounds like you had a great time with your family.


  2. We did the New York trip the week before the holidays..it was packed!
    Happy New Year!


  3. All you can do is sometimes enough to brighten someone else’s day.

    Sounds like a fun holiday at your house and you guys made the most out of that mess of snow you got! Times Square on New Year’s Day sounds like tons of fun. We had a quiet one around here.

    It’s always kind of a bummer when the holidays are over, but now we can start counting the days until spring! 🙂


  4. Sounds like you had a great holiday. I don’t think I’d ever make it in NYC. I’m definitely not a city person. Awesome hats, though.


  5. NEw York City is great almost anytime isn’t it?

    I was in NYC around Christmas only one time in my life. Fascinating experience!

    Unfortuantely it was December 1980 about a week after John Lennon had been shot and so the festive mood was a little subdued for this baby boomer.

    — Judson


  6. I am so with you on the early-ups after vacation–Yuck!

    I really enjoyed your vacation wrap-up. It sounds you and your family had a perfect time.

    Happy New Year!


  7. That is awesome! Im sure your grandkids going to Times Square will be memories they will have FOREVER!

    Happy New Year, my friend!


  8. Great picture, Oscar. It is hard to say goodbye to the kids. While I’m waiting for some work to show up, I’m getting up and doing some more writing … I’m a morning person. Happy New year. See you at the Tavern!


  9. sounds like a super good time! I loved sledding as a child. 🙂

    And…yes, sometimes…often, in fact, It is all we can do.


  10. Had a great time with my family! And from the looks of things, so did you. Happy New year 🙂



Leave a Reply

