h1

In Between Adventures

August 3, 2010

I have been so busy lately.  Man, how many times have I written that here? Sorry.  It’s not a repeat. If it was a repeat, you’d have read it 3 times already. Doesn’t it seem there are more repeats than new?  One good thing I guess here in blog land is you do sort of have a BVR, or a DBR, yes, that’s better, a digital blog reader.  This trash doesn’t go away, you can rewind it, its’ stuck in cyberspace.  So I must apologize to my couple readers that I have not provided much of this quality material.

This past weekend I drove to Toronto.  With all of the traveling I have done, this is the first time I have been to Canada.  I attended my cousin’s wedding.  I met my first cousin’s kids, well adults, for the first time. It was a wonderful occasion and it was a lot of fun.  I drove up Thursday so I could enjoy some sightseeing while I was there.  The city of Toronto has a very diverse culture. I think it’s more diverse than anywhere else I have been.  It was different for me to see bi-lingual signs that were French and English, versus Spanish and English.  I actually got to use some of my rusty French I took back in school. I may have told someone I eat their house, but it was fun to try.

  The highway system there is a bit nutty. Definitely something you would have to get used to. I used my GPS to get there. When I got to a particular highway in the heart of Toronto, it had me entering the “collector”.  What? “Enter 401 Collector and proceed 5 kilometers”, Oh yes it’s metric.  Well a few miles kilometers later I realize that collectors are what I would call “local lanes”.  I learned this as I watched my exit pass with no way to get off.  Kilometer’s later , Hell it was miles,  I had to double back from Yukon territory to get where I needed to be.  If you drive in Toronto, NEVER USE EXPRESS LANES! Unless you want to go far away.  I used up many liters of gas. Which by the way was a $1.04.  Everywhere!  Every station I saw or stopped at had the same price?! 

Good thing I used frequent sleeper miles, so the hotel was free. That’s $0.00 Canadian.

I visited the Toronto Harbourfront. It was very nice. Lots to see! I was going to go up the CN Tower, but it was $26 bucks.  I see things from aircraft often enough so no way.  I enjoyed ground level just fine. It IS an impressive structure. Right near it is the Rogers Center, where the Blue Jays play. There’s a street near it called Blue Jay’s Way.  I was thinking… “please don’t be long…”  But then you’d have to lose the “’s”.   I took a small cruise around the harbor islands.  It gave you a great view of the city and the small islands that protect the city from the Lake. It was all very nice. The weather was great. I think I’ll return again to explore more. In the Summer that is….

Speaking of extreme Summer weather, I travel to Florida tonight to visit my oldest daughter and her family.  I’ll be there for a week.  I’ll get to use my Florida fishing license.  I bought a full year one and use it 3 or 4 times.  I never catch anything worthwhile, but my fishing buddies make it all worth while.

Needless to say I will be continuing the blog drought.  Hang in there, I’m sure I’ll come up with some interesting tid bits while I’m away.  I’m going to start a little ledger to track my blog ideas. This will help eliminate the “what the hell was it’s”. Visit our friend Bud, who presented us here with an award! An honor coming from him. He is a great writer and always has something interesting to say.  I’ll be sure to follow up Bud! 

Thanks for reading see you in a week!

5 comments

  1. If your blog was uninteresting, I wouldn’t read it. 🙂 You always seem to have something interesting to say. At least I think so.

    Never been to Canada, but I’m considering moving up there just for the gas prices. Glad you had a good time. Have fun in Florida!


  2. Like the subtle Beatle comment … “please don’t be long” … Blue Jay Way. To expand your connection, Magical Mystery Tour seems appropriate to your trip.

    Bud aka Older Eyes


  3. I just have to say that I CRACKED UP reading, “so the hotel was free. That’s $0.00 Canadian.”

    Thanks for the laugh! Have fun in Florida and catch a big one!


  4. I’ve never been to Canada either! Im dying to check it out! And I also CRACKED up when I read so the hotel was free. That’s $0.00 Canadian.” Ahahahhahah!
    Enjoy Florida!


  5. I’ve been to Toronto once or twice, but mostly just to the airport, forgettable hotel, and the factory (I was there for a company Christmas party when Mr.4444 worked for a company up there.) Sounds like you had fun exploring (well, except for the driving part!haha)



Leave a Reply

