h1

TGIFA (already)

April 23, 2010

Holy Shrimp, it’s Friday already.  This week flew by. It was a blur. I can’t fit in any more drama.

Starting with last Sunday’s sad news of a 29 year old close friend of my son, and our family.  An auto accident on a busy highway ended his life tragically.  He was at my home the preceding Friday with my son.  The whole week has been sad. I attended the wake Wednesday evening, and the funeral Thursday morning. Closed casket.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the place. I was truly touched by this as he was a regular here.  Extended family my son says.   I always thought he looked like Yankees pitcher Andy Pettite.  One day I had him put on a Yankee cap and stand next to me for a photo so I could goof on people and say I knew him.     Handsome kid.

Hundreds of young adults paid thier respects.  Some of the kids I used to say were “bad element, or creeps” showed up, grown up.  Some with thier wives, fiancee’s, girlfriends and kids.   Good to see they got themselves together.  It was practically a high school reunion.  The support  and love that was in that room and at the church was unbelievable.  I don’t think we have to worry THAT much about the next generation.

God Bless you Brian – We Love you and will miss you.

Interphex is a pharmaceutical packaging and processing trade show.  This year it was in New Your City.  It jumps around different cities.  Wednesday my partnerfrom work and I took the train into the city to see the exhibits.  It was a decent show. We go mostly for the networking and catching up with folks we know in the business.  It was a great gorgeous day in the city. We finished going through the show, meeting up with friends and networking and decided to attend a vendor’s hospitality event.  It was on Times Square in the building where they produce the NASDAQ broadcasts.  It was above the set, so we could drink , have snacks. and watch the live broadcast below. It was real nice. Right on Times Square, looking out onto the street.  Very nice presentation and hospitality. They are a very large worldwide company.  Yes salespeople were there, but I know them and they didn’t need to bug me.  My partner and I enjoyed a few cocktails and hors d’ouvres.  Because I had to leave the city by 6 to be home for Brians wake, I couldn’t stay long but it was fun.

Granddaughter number 2 celebrated her 1st birthday on the 14th.  We had a big shindig planned for this Sunday. Because the weather doesn’t look to promising, my son and daughter-in-law moved it to next week.   >Thank GOD<

So now I’m just gonna relax a bit this weekend.

>right<    Roto-tilling the garden,

Thanks for reading – see you soon!

4 comments

  1. sounds like an emotional week. Get some chill time in!


  2. I’m so sorry about your son’s friend. What a truly difficult loss.


  3. I hope his family and yours are able to get past the grief and remember him with a smile very soon. I’m so sorry, it’s hard when they are so young. Kisses XXXX


  4. OH MY GOD. I dont even know what to say about your son’s friend.

    Happy 1st birthday to Granddaughter number 2. And I really hope you had a GOOD weekend.



Leave a Reply

