h1

She said O’Hwhat?

March 17, 2010

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

   I‘m only a quarter Irish, but I enjoy the day.  At work I put “O” before everyone’s last name.  For example if your name is John Miller, you become Johnny O’ Miller.  Charlene becomes Sherry… Mrs O’ 4444’s….   you get it.  I do a real good Irish accent and use it most of the day. It’s fun. 

Oscar’s Tavern is doing the Irish thing today, Corned beef, green beer.    There’s an “Erin-go -bragh-less”  contest.

I enjoy listening to people. (I listen?) I enjoy listening for dialects, accents and other characteristics of speech.  This morning I spoke to a friend in Texas.  I’ve known her for years, she’s a sweetheart.  One thing I enjoy about talking to her, besides her true “Texan” voice, is how she pronounces some words that start with,” WH”.   In New Jersey we say what as “wut”.  She says “Hwhat”.  very pronounced H sound. It’s like” hew-ut”, not in two sylables. Hwhat.  So every time she says what, I’ll say “OOh – she said Hwhat”.  This usually derails the conversation. Now I don’t know if thats typical Texan, I’m figuring not.  She is an educated woman, she is of german descent.  Anyway, what, where, when, while… I wait and pounce.  I’ll ask questions quietly just to have her say Hwhat?  She laughs.  Then of course attempts a New Jersey accent which everyone seems to think we say “Joisey”.  For the record. No one in Joisey says that.  (Thats Brooklyn).

Saw fer be it fram me to be talon ya how ta be speakin.

Oh and as a follow up.  Charlene didn’t wear the green dress today.  She says the accompanying fishnets are not appropriate for work.  Says she will wear it for the evenings festivities.  – DAMN!  LOL

Have a great day!

Thanks for reading, See you soon!

5 comments

  1. You just reminded me that I forgot to wear green. Darn.


  2. Too Funny ! Happy St. Patty’s Day – have a green ale on me XXXOOO


  3. I love hearing other people’s accents too. There’s a guy at work who doesn’t really have an accent. He’s just very proper. Probably very much like your friend from Texas. I am always on the look out for a new word or phrase from him. My favorite so far is, “Today has been a shy bit more taxing than I had anticipated it would be.”

    (He’s in his mid to late twenties, which makes it all that much more fascinating.)


  4. Happy St Paddy’s Day!


  5. Mrs. O’4444…I kind of like that! The braless part, though, yikes! You would love my accent (or hate it, haha)



Leave a Reply

