h1

Merry Christmas

December 23, 2009

My mind is blank right now.  But I know I won’t get time to write before Christmas, so let me just write a few …..notes.

  • I haven’t finished shopping yet. I hate Christmas shopping. Once I paid a friend to shop for me. She did a good job. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy giving gifts, that makes me happy. But going to get them is a pain. Actually if I know what I’m getting someone, its not that bad. Thats what it is…
  • The Christmas lights on my porch are falling off as icicles have formed around the wires and are dragging them down.
  • My son’s dog wouldn’t go outside this morning. So I closed the door and went to shower. When I came down she had pee’d all over the place.  It ran under a wrapped gift.
  • The Christmas tree is drinking a lot of water…good sign.
  • My daughter and family won’t be up for the holidays.  Victims of the economy.  I’m kinda bluesy about that.
  • I remember once my friend Sandy had broken up with her boyfriend around Christmas time. She said she went home and figured she’d play Christmas music, wrap presents and try to forget it.  The first song that played on her “stereo” was Blue Christmas.  Sheryl Crow has recorded 2 versions of Blue Christmas. One is kinda unusual, the other is very standard. Of course I like the unusual one better.
  • That same Christmas, Sandy and I went to the mall together one day at lunch. We drove there, split up and said we’d meet at a place for lunch after we shopped. We did so. But as we both left a department store at different times, women attacked us with “Trial sprays” of some perfume/cologne.   We both walked back into work later and people were talking…
  • A woman once sent a Christmas card to my office.  My co-worker was there. As I was opening it a …um… suggestive photo fell out.   I heard about that for many years…
  • My friend Charlene and I buy each other the same gift, quite often.
  • I will watch “A Christmas Story” many times.  We call it, “Ralphie”.   Let’s watch Ralphie”.
  • I bought the new HD enhanced version of Rudolph!   I have often said that at work I’m in the department of misfit engineers.  We reference Rudolph a lot.    Someone once handed me a mallot. I licked it and said, Naaah, nuthin.
  • One Christmas, I bought my grandson so much Thomas the Train stuff that we occupied the entire great room with a railroad and played with it for a week.  
  • Mele kalikimaka is Hawaii’s way, of saying Merry Christmas to you…. ( A fun scene in Christmas Vacation, another Holiday staple in my house.)

Hey you know what?  I read TerriTerri this morning and she put out a Meme.  I cut and pasted the rules and stuff, placed it under this section so I could do mine.  And it seems I kinda already did.

The Twelve days of Christmas have been celebrated since medieval times ~ traditionally beginning the day after Christmas Day (now known as Boxing Day) and ending on the Twelfth Night.  And since the festive season is upon us ~ I thought it might be fun to do a Christmas meme!

She found this one over at Gary’s World.

The Rules:

  1. Copy the delightful Chrismouse picture to your post
  2. Copy these rules and the explanation of the meme (above).
  3. Link the person who tagged you.
  4. List 12 things: either about a Christmas present or memories of Christmas past (or a mixture of both).
  5. Tag as many or as few people as you like.

Well Thanks Terri for helping me figure out what to write.

I’m not the happiest camper today, but I’ll get over it.  The magic of Christmas will overtake me and I’ll be a smiling guy. Either that or a few drinks with my pal Belinda for lunch…

I want to wish all of my friends here in blog-land a Merry Christmas!  and a prosperous New Year!   Lets hope things are better for a lot of us next year.  I enjoy reading all of your posts, and look forward to writing more myself.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Christmas Eve

I Love my Snoopy.

Thanks for reading, HAPPY HOLIDAY’S

I’ll see you soon.

6 comments

  1. I’m sorry that your daughter and family can’t be with you for the holidays. This damn economy. But if I know you, you’ll find a way to go visit them soon.

    Ralphie and White Christmas are two of my favorites too.

    Have a Merry Christmas!


  2. Merry Christmas!


  3. Yeah, been to Teri’s site. Don’t do the meme thing, too lazy I guess. Anyways, Merry Christmas to you and the family (extended and all) from the sunny So Cal gang….Mike


  4. I sincerely hope you and your family had an awesome holiday.


  5. Merry Christmas ! Great post.


  6. Thanks for the holiday wishes 🙂 Christmas Vacation is a family favorite in this house, as is Rudolph, but our newest favorite is ELF.

    It sounds like you are rich when it comes to family, friends (blogging and otherwise), and grandkids to make you feel young at heart and enjoying life. I’m happy for you.



Leave a Reply

