h1

Thanksgiving Week

November 23, 2009

Hello there!   It’s Monday, in a couple days it will be Thanksgiving.

I think I have said before that Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  Independence Day is my second. 

Thanksgiving has no religion attached to it, no race, no gifts and or obligations.  It’s just a day we all get together and give thanks for what we have. 

I thought I’d mention a just few things I’m thankful for;

  • My Family – A major part of my life. My children and their children. They constantly keep me young as I am wrapped up in their ups and downs. Sometimes as dysfunctional as they can be, I love them. They are my world.
  • My home,  I worked hard to have it, and now harder to maintain this money pit, but… it is shelter for me and my family and the fireplace will warm me up in the coming weeks of that damned cold weather.
  • My health – I’m not in bad shape for a “middle-aged” guy.
  • My friends.  For their differences of opinion, support, love and ability to put up with my insane antics.
  • My Job – Another thing I had to work hard for and now harder to maintain.
  • God and My spirituality – as wounded as that can be, it has helped me stay sane.
  • And all of my Blog friends.  I truly enjoy our interaction, and look forward to more.  It is a lot of fun. Those who visit Oscar’s tavern, and Here.  🙂

 

And a special Thank you to a woman I call “My Sweetie”. She has made me smile so much this year that my face hurts.   I will always Love You.

May the holiday bring you and yours together and fill your home with love, happiness and thanks.

Have a great Thanksgiving!

Thanks for reading!  I’ll see you soon!

(save a leg for Willy)

7 comments

  1. I love Thanksgiving for its simplicity too. Just a day to enjoy our loved ones and reflect on all of our blessings.

    Your list is a good reminder that although life and the world are far from perfect, there is much for which to be thankful.


  2. Thanksgiving has been my favorite holiday for many, many years for the reasons you mentioned and more. The older I get, and the more complicated my life becomes, the more I know I have so many things to be thankful for. Family and friends are at the top of the list. They make life worthwhile!

    I am wishing you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving!


  3. Happy Thanksgiving!!! It’s my FAVORITE holiday!


  4. This is a wonderful post. I’m glad you have so much to be grateful for, and I like your perspective on Thanksgiving. I appreciate your friendship 🙂 Happy Turkey Day!


  5. Happy Thanksgiving My Friend. Of course, Thanksgiving is my favorite too. For all the same reasons, also. Luv Ya ! Hope your turkey is full of love and laughter.


  6. Love this. Happy Thanksgiving to you! I laughed at the end, I always tell my man that he makes me laugh so much my face hurts…


  7. Happy thanksgiving O 🙂 I have many things to be thankful for, not least of which is having you as one of my blog friends.



Leave a Reply

