h1

What is a Dell?

October 8, 2009

I drove from Chicago to St. Paul yesterday.  It was about 6 hours, took 7 as I stopped in a town named “Eau Claire” for a bit. 

What a beautiful state Wisconsin is.   The route I took was mostly farm land and nothing.  NOTHING!!  But very nice.  It was pretty flat for a while, then it got hilly.  The trees in some areas were turning, there were some beautiful hills.  I actually saw a cranberry bog!!!  I’ve always wanted to see one!  (no really I did!)  I was zipping along with the car on cruise at 70 mph.  I saw the bogs and slammed on the brakes and pulled over to take this picture.

bog

A bit later there was a place where you could do Cranberry things.  I may return!   When I stopped in Eau Claire, I realized that 94 goes through the rural area. When you go off 94 and in a bit, there’s life there.  I was thirsty and my cell phone charge cord was not working so I thought I’d find a place to have a snack and a beer, then get a new charger.  I got off and set my GPS for resturants and it found an Applebees.  Ok, that will do.  But the path took me to a very populated area with a mall that had a Verizon Wireless store, and a Fridays.  That worked.  I got my new charge cord and went to Fridays.  I looked at the bar menu and the appetizers were too big.  I didn’t want anything real filling.. so I just had 2 beers.  (driving ya know)

Headed out of Eau Claire and started seeing St Paul signs.  Ahhhh!

Overall Wisconsin looks real nice. Gonna have to come again and go to some of the cities.  Milwaukee, Green Bay, Osh Kosh…  next time.

and hey…   What’s a Dell?   Lots of signs for Wisconsin Dells….  I know the farmer in the dell….   Maybe Mrs.4444’s knows.

OH!   Got to meet a fellow blogger when I was in Chicago.  I met her for breakfast in downtown Chicago.  I walked there from my hotel.   She is a real sweet person!  We had a fun conversation.  I’ll remember to put some time aside next time I come to Chicago!    And thanks to her hubby for letting me steal the suprise for a bit!

In St. Paul now….  More later!

5 comments

  1. I’ve never seen a cranberry bog either! I think, and let me emphasize think, that I went to the Wisconsin Dells when I was a child…..but I don’t remember!

    Sounds like fun….meeting a fellow blogger! I’ve only met one fellow blogger. It was amazing how easy it was to jump right in and talk; we had a lot in common.


  2. Thanks! I really enjoyed meeting you, too! And, please, next time you’re in Chicago, give me a holler! And the hubby says you’re welcome. Regarding your comment about me hardly eating, ask me about eggs and I’ll tell you why.
    Glad you enjoyed your ride to Minneapolis!
    The only Dells I know are is the touristy one in Wisconsin. I’ve been there. Give me a couple of beers and I’ll tell you all about it! LOL
    Again, it was great meeting you!


  3. Wisconsin is Dairyland. Lots of cows. Lots of farmland. Nice change of pace if you’re always in the chaos of the city. I can see where it might get boring if you’re driving all by yourself though.

    I’ve never seen a cranberry bog either. I would pull over to see one and snap pictures too!

    The Dells are within a few hours of me, yet I’ve never been there. Lots of water parks there, or so I hear.


  4. You drove for 7 hours!!!!!!!!!


  5. Honey you don’t have to go all the way to WI to visit Cranberry bogs ya know? Jersey is the biggest producer of Cranberries ! Glad you had fun in Chi-Town….safe travels home XXOO



Leave a Reply

