h1

The Dog

August 19, 2009

As any child, I enjoyed watching Saturday cartoons.  And maybe some after school shows.  So in my head is this huge library of useless cartoon memories and other arcaine rubbish.  I was talking to a partner at work one day about the rebirth of cartoons into movies. For example the new movie coming out soon “‘Astro Boy”     is based on a cartoon from that era.

Anyway, I have all these images and things stuffed in the cellar of my cranium.    I was talking to “The Girl” yesterday and I was telling her about what I call “The Dog”.  I was describing a cartoon which when the lead character tosses his dog a bone,  It gulps it down,  hugs humself in enjoyment, springs into the air and floats on his back heavenly to the ground in contentment.  She said… Um, no.  (an old moment)  Oh, well it’s a reference I use when I want to say how good something makes me feel. Well I knew it was a Hanna Barbera cartoon. I started there and found it. “Snuffles”  a dog on the Quick Draw McDraw cartoon. Here it is. 

quiksnufanim

 

   Have you ever seen this?  It’s usually a lot slower and dramatic. The .GIF file is too fast.  Also “Muttley” from another cartoon “Whacky Races” with Dick Dastardly, “Stop that pidgeon!” does this.  I like Snuffles better.  He’s the original.

So…  There is someone who makes me feel like this. 

And there are people who make me feel like “El kabong”. But you can look that one up.

Oh, Mrs.4444 posted today: Rants and Raves.  One speaks to blogging. I agree.

 If the image isn’t animated for you, go here.

Thanks for reading!   I’ll see you soon!

9 comments

  1. And….you can add the “Transformer” movie to the list. My son used to watch Transformers and now his sons watch….

    But, long story short. They simply “don’t make cartoons like they used to!” *sigh* Little Einsteins isn’t nearly as entertaining as your “dog.” 🙂


  2. There’s someone who makes me feel like that, too! Isn’t that great!
    I know this cartoon! Then again, we are pretty close in age and probably watched the same cartoons. I know Mutley, too! Wow, someone who speaks the same language!
    I don’t think my girls really watched a lot of cartoons, except if my husband could find the vintage ones on TV. The ones they did watch didn’t even come close to the ones my husband and I watched as kids.
    Thanks for the stroll down memory and cartoon lane.
    Hope you’re doing well!


  3. I SO REMEMBER QUICK DRAW MCGRAW….just not the episode you were talking about… Old Moment Erased !!!!! I loved Quick Draw – Hanna Barbera were always my favorites 🙂


  4. Oh, and the Speed Racer movie – sucked !


  5. I grew up on those Hanna Barbera cartoons. Good memories!


  6. Loved Snuffles; he was so cute doing that. For some reason, I cannot hear any audio here or on the link 😦 I also loved Underdog and Johnny Quest. (Thanks for the linky-love!!)


  7. I love cartoons. But i’m more into animes nowadays 🙂


  8. i love cartoons. i was never allowed to watch them as a kid, we were only allowed Little House on the Prairie and such. Now, I let my kids watch cartoons all the time and smile. Funny though, they LOVE Little House.


  9. Wow, this brings back memories. Good ole Quick Draw McGraw and his sidekick Baba Loui.



Leave a Reply

