h1

In Between stuff

July 16, 2009

Oh My God – Check this out!    LOL

Hey! How are you! 

Man I have been busier than anything lately. No real time to post much. But I am trying to read all of yours.

A busy past weekend.   A wedding, a funeral – A roller coaster of emotion thats for sure. But always something odd to mention about everything. 

  I’ll just list some random thoughts in no particular order.

 

  • The Wedding:  One of my oldest and best friends daughter was married. She was beautiful. I  remember when she was born. (augh)
  • Very Nice Church wedding. They had a singer who performed “Ave Maria”.  She was…ok.
  • The part of the song where “Maria” is repeated and the notes escalate made me nuts!   Mah – REEE – hee hee hee hee hee yah!  Mega- vibrato so sine wave-ish and she must have projected so that it distorted the speaker system and pierced my ears!   OUCH!!!
  • The Reception was very nice. Very classy location. Great food!  Open bar (yes!) They had a DJ.  Very nice!
  • The musical selections were very tasteful for a while…  Then it switched to rap and hip hop.  I won’t even go there.
  • I think the latest dance steps are robotic sex gyrations while holding a Corona.
  • So much for  the days of slow close dancing and the gentle ass grope.
  • But all in all, a nice time!  My congrats to the new bride and groom!
  • Next day was My 94 year old Aunt’s wake.  This woman could find good in Bin Laden.
  • The next day was the funeral.  I was asked to do a reading at the Funeral Mass. Here’s what I was asked to read:

THE EPISTLE OF ST. PAUL TO THE ROMANS: Chapter 5:  

For if by the transgression of the one the many died, much more did the grace of God and the gift by the grace of the one Man, Jesus Christ, abound to the many.  The gift is not like that which came through the one who sinned; for on the one hand the judgment arose from one transgression resulting in condemnation, but on the other hand the free gift arose from many transgressions resulting in justification.  For if by the transgression of the one, death reigned through the one, much more those who receive the abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness will reign in life through the One, Jesus Christ.  So then as through one transgression there resulted condemnation to all men, even so through one act of righteousness there resulted justification of life to all men.  For as through the one man’s disobedience the many were made sinners,even so through the obedience of the One the many will be made righteous. The Law came in so that the transgression would increase; but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more, so that, as sin reigned in death, even so grace would reign through righteousness to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Now I am no literary fellow, or an expert in language arts, but that is a very difficult read.  Muchless difficult for someone who is grieving a loved one’s death to comprehend at a funeral mass.  Heck, I had a hard time just reading it.  Did you?   ( I know, now go back and actually read it) Again, I’m no expert and I do respect the “Word of the Lord”.  But heck, St. Paul gets an”F” in communication.  It took me a few reads to understand what he was saying. Or I despirately need to go back to school!

  • Now let’s add the fact that my new grand-daughter was there and she was blasting farts like boys in a college dorm during this part of the solumn celebration. Thank the lord that everyone within 10 feet of my sweet little tuba, was covering thier faces to hide the giggling. Appearing to others to be crying, hiding sadness and tears.
  • I was asked to be a Pall bearer. Which nowadays is just one who walks with the casket, not carrying it. It now rolls on this new fancy turbo charged dolly.
  • It was a sad day, and I will truly miss her.
  • Funny how at Weddings and funerals we see friends and family we don’t always see. We make plans to “Really” get together, we shouldn’t wait till the next disaster (lol)   and we never do.  I just say see you at the next occasion.

Wow, this is getting as wordy as TerriTerri on a good day!    (luv ya)

‘Spose I should let you go on and read other blogs.

Thanks for Reading!   See you soon!

4 comments

  1. Things have been a little intense in your world lately, it seems.

    Weddings are usually fun, but I find I don’t dance much at the receptions either. Guess I’m getting old.

    Funerals are always hard. It’s so sad to have to say goodbye to your loved one, not knowing when you’ll meet again. But I always find the reception after a funeral to be somewhat therapeutic. People tend to let the grief start washing away at this point. Closure begins. We allow ourselves to enjoy seeing and talking with those we haven’t in a long time. I like to think the deceased is looking down, smiling at all the friends and family enjoying a few moments in their honor.

    I’m sorry for your loss. *Hug*


  2. Yeah that one was hard to read. I was asked to read at my godmother’s funeral and had the same issue. How can I read this without screwing up and/or breaking down into tears. This sounds terrible to say, but I hate to read in church. Sorry about your Aunt, my sympathies to your family. XXXOOO


  3. Make me (read it again), haha. Wow. Sorry about your dear aunt. It’s so weird, that while we are grieving, the world is going on as always; new births, weddings, other celebrations. I remember when my FIL died suddenly and my world was just ROCKED. At the funeral, someone brought a new baby, and it brought a little tiny ray of hope into an otherwise really crappy day. Glad your sorrow was tempered with celebration.


  4. Sorry about your auntie. =( Readings from the bible often confuse me…and I spent 9 years in Catholic school…they don’t seem to teach you how to decipher it all.

    The pall bearers at my dad’s funeral carried the casket…but I did notice they had those fancy cart things around. Funerals are so sad…especially when you can’t bare with the loss and you spend the whole time in a foggy daze wishing it was a bad dream…



Leave a Reply

