h1

More Dead Flowers

May 21, 2009

The Oscar’s Tavern blog made me feel funny today. Those in the know, know I influence Oscar. I really was going to write some thoughts on a long weekend.  I had Dead flowers by The Stones in my head earlier today and when I can’t think of a title for a post I’ll just put anything. I remember someone commenting on thier post about not being able to think of a post name. MeleahTerri?  Oh well.  So I called the post “Dead Flowers”.  Then if you read that post. The thought came to me how we are like the flowers. We are bright and colorful, full of celebration, and excited, then after awhile the party is over and we forget about it.  So I Oscar wrote the post that way. An interesting analogy I guess. The I couldn’t find the link for The Stones song. If I talk about a song I try to send you somewhere to listen to it. Not sure how many ACTUALLY listen, or even read the whole posts, but Oscar’s is a full service establishment. 

I knew Miranda Lambert recorded a song called “Dead Flowers“.  I hadn’t yet heard it, I missed the CMA’s. So I thought to myself, Hmmm. I’ll tie her version of the song to the post. In doing so I found out it’s not the same song. Just a similar title.  Funny thing again it has nothing to do with the post, but as I listened to it,  it started to fit.  It was just odd how I was relating personally and its idea of decay of celebration. 

Like I was sent there to listen to it.

Oooh ….

 

Well the pool is ready.  I have no real plans for the weekend. Think I’ll just “get things done”.  It looks like a nice enough weekend here in New Jersey so I’ll do outdoor work.  Taking tomorrow off and we have the Holiday on Monday.  maybe I’ll get to the beach.  Or have a few drinks at Oscar’s.

Enjoy the Weekend!

Remember our fallen heroes. 

Thanks for reading, I’ll see you soon!

2 comments

  1. Thank you for reminding us to remember what Memorial Day is really about.


  2. Momo Stole My Comment!

    “Thank you for reminding us to remember what Memorial Day is really about.”

    xoxoxo



Leave a Reply

