h1

The Parade

October 9, 2008

Hi there!  How are you today?

I’m an amateur musician and songwriter

 I wrote this about a year ago.

 

When does the parade start?

I thought I was at the right corner.

Maybe it’s already gone past.

I should have called to warn her,

I think I broke the blender.

I didn’t use it anyway.

 

She sold me a new line.

I believed her and thought she was right.

Maybe I heard too much.

Blinked and didn’t see the light.

I think I lost her number.

I didn’t need it anyway.

 

I think I’ve gone one eighty, but I’ve only gone ninety twice.

Turned around to see her, thinking she was nice,

Sometimes you gotta listen to your own advice.

I probably should have listened,

And simply stayed away…

 

Where is the sandy beach?

I knew when I was younger.

Maybe it’s just down the road,

I should have called and asked her.

Where’s my pail and shovel.

I didn’t bring it anyway.

 

When will I get an answer?

I just put in another dime.

Maybe it will come later.

She said she would call sometime.

I think I’ve lost connection.

I never had it anyway.

 

I think I’ve gone one eighty, but I’ve only gone ninety twice.

Turned around to see her, thinking she was nice,

Sometimes you gotta listen to your own advice.

I probably should have listened,

Now here I am today…

 

Can you feel the sunshine?

I’m surely facing the right direction.

Maybe it will rain today.

An attitude correction.

I think she forgot the sun block.

I never use it anyway.

 

When is the circus coming?

I’ve watched the road for days and days.

Maybe its just been here.

We all hate clowns anyway.

She’s drunk and smiling happy.

I didn’t take it anyway.

 

I think I’ve gone one eighty, but I’ve only gone ninety twice.

Turned around to see her, thinking she was nice,

Sometimes you gotta listen to your own advice.

I realize now I’m twisted.

Somebody take my keys away.

 

Where has my mind gone?

Somewhere atop another hill.

Maybe I should follow.

Someday I think I will.

Meanwhile, pour me another one.

Who really cares anyway.

4 comments

  1. I totally *digg* this


  2. You really ahve to get into doing this more gordo. Then try to get some singers to buy these tunes from you for extra cash!


  3. I totally agree with Jen


  4. I totally agree with everybody! 🙂



Leave a Reply

